The Dancing Faun by Florence Farr 1st / 1st 1894 Aubrey Beardsley

The Dancing Faun by Florence Farr 1st / 1st 1894 Aubrey Beardsley


First American edition published by Roberts Brothers in 1894. This is very good ++ copy. It has its original light blue cloth with black stamping to front board and gilt lettering to spine. There is a key that has been designed for Florence Farr on the back board. A couple of the corners have been pushed and the boards have dulled a tad. The spine is sunned. There is a previous owners contemporary signature to the inside board. The pages are very clean with no foxing at all. Overall a very good ++ copy. 


Keynotes was a series of 34 novels and short story collections published by John Lane from 1893. The series was coined 'keynotes' due to the title of the first novel in the series by George Egerton. Aubrey Beardsley produced cover designs and embellishments for 22 of the titles. Beardsley’s designs comprised a title frame with illustration or decoration which was blocked in gold (or black with the american versions) on the cover. For 15 of the titles he also created a series of key-shaped monograms for the authors, designs which were used either on the spines and / or the backs of the books. 


The second volume in the "Keynote" series. Florence Farr (1860 – 1917) was an actress and mystic who was the mistress of George Bernard Shaw and close friend of W.B. Yeats. In addition to this novel she was the author of several other books, including "Egyptian Magic: Occult Mysteries in Ancient Egypt" as well as various occult essays. 


    Come and visit us

    Our contact details


    9 Gordon Square

    Birchington, Kent CT7 9SL

    Telephone Number



    ©2019 by TPK Books Limited