top of page
Regeneration Trilogy by Pat Barker 1st / 1st 1991-1995

Regeneration Trilogy by Pat Barker 1st / 1st 1991-1995


London: Viking 1991 - 1995. First UK editions of this highly acclaimed trilogy. The set is essentially fine with only the tiniest amount of wear to the extremities. All three volumes have not been price clipped and none have any previous owner’s ink or foxing marks. An excellent set.


The Regeneration Trilogy are historical and anti-war novels by Pat Barker. The first novel was a Booker Prize nominee, and the third a Booker Prize winner.


The novels explore the experience of British army officers being treated for shell shock during World War I at Craiglockhart War Hospital in Edinburgh. Inspired by her grandfather’s experience of World War I, Barker draws extensively on first person narratives from the period. Using these sources, she created characters based on historical individuals present at the hospital including poets and patients, Siegfried Sassoon and Wilfred Owen, and psychiatrist W. H. R. Rivers, who pioneered treatments of posttraumatic stress disorder during and after World War I. The title of the first novel refers to Rivers’ research into “nerve regeneration”. Barker also includes fictional characters, based on the larger cultural experience of the period.


The first novel was adapted into a film into 1997 that had critical acclaim. overall a fine set.    

    Product Page: Stores_Product_Widget
    bottom of page