top of page
Birdsong signed by Sebastian Faulks first edition 1993

Birdsong signed by Sebastian Faulks first edition 1993


 London: Hutchinson, 1993


Large 8vo., forest green publisher’s boards, backstrip lettered in silver with publisher’s device to foot; housed in the original unclipped pictorial dust jacket (£14.99 net), with black and white photograph of the author looking rather pleased with himself to the lower flap; jacket designed by Garner Russell, with cover image taken from the Réunion des Musées Nationaux, Paris; pp. [x], 3-407, [i]; some minimal handling wear; a very good copy otherwise; some rubbing to spine tips and a couple of bumps to corners; jacket in near-fine condition, with minimal creasing affecting edges and head of spine; light marking to the lower panel. 


First edition, with full number line 1-9, signed by the author to the title page. 


Faulks’ first novel, and the one which elevated him to fame, set in two different eras; the first following soldier Stephen Wraysford on the front line in Amiens during the First World War, and the second in the 1970s, when his granddaughter attempts to trace his personal history. The novel is part of a loose trilogy which was preceded by The Girl at the Lion d’Or (1989), and later continued with Charlotte Gray (1999). It was the author’s intention that the First World War be discussed more in both a literary and historical context, with his research focusing on first-hand interviews with veterans. Although it has now sold over 3 million copies, Faulks later felt that the finished work didn’t give "a full appreciation of the soldiers' physical experience; and, perhaps more importantly, a philosophical understanding of what it meant to be part of the first genocidal event of the century – the one that made the others imaginable". 

In 2012, a BBC television adaptation was released, starring Eddie Redmayne as Stephen Wraysford and Clémence Poésy as Isabelle Azair

    Product Page: Stores_Product_Widget
    bottom of page